35.Binders Moderated discussion and help for gluten free, coeliac, celiac, wheat allergies or intolerance, Cookery and recipes

Binders: from on 2004-03-29

I've read that Binders are harmful for people who are gluten sensitive. I've also heard that Malto-Dextrin is not a problem.
My question has to do with Dextrin.
Dextrin is used as a thickener and a binder. It is also a partially hydrolyzed starch. My question is, Is Dextrin a harmful binder even though it is almost always made from corn in North America

Re: Binders: from Peter on 2004-04-01

If it is made from maize (corn) then it won't be a problem.