95.can celiacs eat whey powder Moderated discussion and help for gluten free, coeliac, celiac, wheat allergies or intolerance, Cookery and recipes

Re: can celiacs eat whey powder: from paula on 2008-11-01

Hi,

My daughter as been diagnosed as a celiac and alot of produces have whey powder in,am i'm just wondering if my daughter can eat it.

Thanks

Re: can celiacs eat whey powder: from Peter on 2008-11-01

Whey powder is a form of powdered milk. It is gluten-free

Re: can celiacs eat whey powder: from barb on 2009-08-29

Whey is the liquid that remains from milk when the curds are separated. It can be processed/dried which produces the whey powder. It is gluten free. It does contain the casein protein from the milk and should be avoided if trying to maintain a gluten free/casein free diet

Re: can celiacs eat whey powder: from Sandra King on 2011-12-10

If you think about cottage cheese, the liquid is the whey and the chunks are the curds. In other words, It is a milk product not a wheat or grain