98.Caramel - What you can eat on a gluten-free diet Moderated discussion and help for gluten free, coeliac, celiac, wheat allergies or intolerance, Cookery and recipes

Re Caramel - What you can eat on a gluten-free diet: from Peter on 2005-04-17

caramel is gluten free.

The ingredients or raw materials which may be used in the preparation of caramel color in the United States are listed in the Standard of Identity for Caramel (CFR 21, 73.85). The edible carbohydrates are glucose, invert sugar, malt syrup, molasses, sucrose and starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof. Corn starch hydrolysate, that is, corn syrup of high dextrose equivalent is employed most frequently by the caramel color industry.
http//www.caramelworld.com/solution_center/basics_of_caramel_colors.asp

Re Caramel - What you can eat on a gluten-free diet: from lynn on 2008-09-14

what is malt syrup made of? Is it GF