133.Chips,Salsa,Corn syrup Moderated discussion and help for gluten free, coeliac, celiac, wheat allergies or intolerance, Cookery and recipes

Chips,Salsa,Corn syrup: from on 2004-02-27

I have "very" recently been diagnosed with CD and am learning quite a lot about this disease. Besides dealing with depression over what I "can't" have--foods which I have always loved--I am trying to deal with this in a positive way. I recently called the Frito company and found that their Tostito Corn chips were gluten free. Also called the Pace Salsa company and found the salsa was gluten free. Thought I would pass this on. My question--does corn syrup contain gluten? I have seen this listed on labels and was not sure if I should get the product or not. Also, the list of okay foods on my doctor's list included Corn Pops cereal...is this okay? I just want to thank you (whoever started this chat area) for I learned quite a bit and it has helped my "down in the dumps" attitude to know I can come here and ask questions

Re: Chips,Salsa,Corn syrup: from Peter on 2004-02-29

Products made from maize such as corn syrup, corn pops, cornflakes are fine.
Do check the ingredients label on the packet or tin though, just in case anything else has been used.

Peter

Re: Chips,Salsa,Corn syrup: from on 2004-03-16

Kelloggs has just started adding Wheat starch to Corn Pops. Be carefull!! If you want to express your frustration at this change go to www.kelloggs.com and email them your concerns. Maybe if everyone joins together we can get them to change it back

Re: Chips,Salsa,Corn syrup: from Aston on 2004-04-06

Doesnt Cornflakes contain Malt Extract

Re: Chips,Salsa,Corn syrup: from Peter on 2004-04-11

Cornflakes does contain malt extract, which will contain very tiny traces of gluten.
But you need to balance your need for a varied diet against the risks from tiny traces of gluten. There is a health risk from worry, as well as a health risk from eating too narrow a range of foods. On balance, I eat cornflakes.

Peter

Re: Chips,Salsa,Corn syrup: from on 2004-05-07

If you want to express your frustration at this change go to www.kelloggs.com and email them your concerns. Maybe if everyone joins together we can get them to change it back!"
Done! This should not be let to slide. Please, for the sake of our kids who have celiac, Kelloggs should be made to know that this is not a needed chance, and to change it back.
John

Re: Chips,Salsa,Corn syrup: from on 2004-05-29

Corn Pops are no longer gluten free

Re: Chips,Salsa,Corn syrup: from on 2004-05-29

Corn Pops are no longer gluten free

Re: Chips,Salsa,Corn syrup: from on 2004-07-26

Kellogs corn pops are not gluten-free which, sadly, I discovered after eating it almost every morning for three months. No wonder the CD was not improving. It is even printed on the box warning label--now. It has wheat in it. Hope you have already heard this

Re: Chips,Salsa,Corn syrup: from Patty on 2008-01-10

I would like to know the date that Kellogg's changed their "recipe" for Corn Pops and started adding wheat. I just happened to review the food label at the store today as a matter of routine. When I read "wheat startch" I nearly had a meltdown in the cereal aisle. I loved Corn Pops. I can't tell you how disappointed I am....and I will let Kelloggs know it