315.gluten free vitamins,herbs, supple. Moderated discussion and help for gluten free, coeliac, celiac, wheat allergies or intolerance, Cookery and recipes

gluten free vitamins,herbs, supple: from on 2004-03-22

I am interested in finding a place where I can can purchase all my daily vitamins, herbs, and supplements and to state on the bottle/jar that they have no gluten in them, and be able to purchase them at reasonable prices.


Joe

March 22, 04

Re: gluten free vitamins,herbs, supple: from Peter on 2004-03-24

The big supermarkets usually have excellent quality control.
I get all my requirements from them.

Peter

Re: gluten free vitamins,herbs, supple: from on 2004-06-14

Does cellulose on a vitamin ingrdient list mean it has gluten. I'd like to take caltrate for my bones but its has cellulose as an ingrdient.
Anybody know the answer

Re: gluten free vitamins,herbs, supple: from on 2004-06-27

Hi,

I was wondering where I could find gingko biloba in a form that is gluten and casein free, and that I could give to a 3 year old. Do you have any ideas?

Thank you for your help.

Karen

Re gluten free vitamins,herbs, supple: from Katie on 2006-03-18

Does anyone know where I can find a list, (or if you know any in specifis) that can tell me the vitamins that I can or cannot take due to gluten intolerance?

Re: gluten free vitamins,herbs, supple: from Marty Hemmann on 2007-01-01

Did you get information on cellulose in vitamins, etc?

I want to takethe Country Life vitamins, but it lists cellulose, with no more detail as to type.

I am just now learning about being "gluten free" and any information would be appreciated.

Thanks

Marty Hemmann

Re: gluten free vitamins,herbs, supple: from Peter on 2007-01-01

Food grade cellulose is made from a wide variety of plant material, but mostly from wood pulp.
Some companies do provide information on the source of the cellulose used in their products, but often no information is given.

There is no risk of gluten in cellulose from wood pulp, seaweed, or fungal culture.

Re: gluten free vitamins,herbs, supple: from nichola woods on 2007-04-12

hi

i have recently started to take st johns wort (boots brand) and was wondering if they are gluten free? the pharmacist was really unsure.

are there any lists of vitamins and suppliments that are gluten free that you know of? thanks x

Re: gluten free vitamins,herbs, supple: from Peter on 2007-04-12

The tincture of St Johns Wort will be gluten-free.

There are no details of whether gluten may have been added as a filler to tablet form.

Note that anyone with allergy problems should seek advice from their doctor before taking this. In my opinion anyone needing a gluten-free diet should seek this advice.

St Johns Wort can cause sensitivity to sunlight and skin rash as well as interacting with other medicines.