334.gluten free Moderated discussion and help for gluten free, coeliac, celiac, wheat allergies or intolerance, Cookery and recipes part 8

Re Wheatfree = Gluten Free: from Lonna on 2006-04-15

I suffered from endometriosis all of my adult life.....having had two surgies and no cure in sight.....I lived with the pain as it always was re-occuring. I was ready for surgery again as the pain was getting worse and my moods and lack of sleeping were just as bad. I also had bad break outs on my face, nape of my neck, and back. I met a man that told me to cut out wheat, gluten, dairy, grains, corn of any kind and sugar. This was hard as you can imagine...but once I got through the withdrawls and bad habits.....For three years I have been pain and symptom free, clear beautiful skin, I sleep and no more gas and diareah. Trust me....food is the culprit of all our problems. Good luck.

Gluten free and casein free diet for autistic child: from Emily Print on 2006-04-29

Please see


Re UK Gluten Free Beer: from Emily Print on 2006-04-29

The French lager on ASDA GF list is a mistake- Coeliac UK say no ordinary beer is safe for coeliacs, only the special GF ones.

Stick to the GF beers (as named on CAMRA Chesterfield GF beer festival web site).

Gluten free diet after CD diagnosis: from Emily Print on 2006-04-29

Brenda, if you are in UK join Coeliac UK ( Coeliac Society) -membership is free to all diagnosed coeliacs in UK- and look/post on the gluten free messageboard .



If you are outside UK join your local Coeliac Society as you will need help in staying strictly gluten free.

In EU now all ingredients on processed food & drink have to be stated- which helps people with CD.

Re UK Gluten Free Beer: from Paul on 2006-05-05

Greens ale tastes like stale dishwater to me!

However many coeliacs report being able to tolerate certain lagers, depending on quantity. Corona is often mentioned as OK, and I find I can tolerate it. Brahma is ok for me personally as long as no more than 4 bottles, Cobra Ok in 1 or 2 bottle quantities.

The absolute no-no is any beer containing wheat, since most of us seem to have a higher intolerence to wheat gluten. Therefore wheat or white beers are toxic! Also they are cloudy from deliberate wheat content!

It is a matter of debate of course as to whether we should risk low levels of gluten at all - and whether we can get away with some glutens better than others, e.g. oats rather than wheat. Research indicates we vary in this regard with some coiliacs able to tolerate oats and spelt, others having problems with even the rice varient of gluten (rice starch). I seem to be able to tolerate small amounts of barley gluten in beer and oat gluten in one particular "oat" ale. In food the levels are too high and make me ill. I guess its a careful try it and see, but please dont make yourselves ill on my suggestions!

I will not pretend to be an expert on this one or give medical advice, but perhaps the above will be of help to some people!

Incidentally in regard to Whisky - having done some research and corresponded with some experts including distillers the following might be helpful
Scottish whisky is either single malt or blended.
Blended whisky tends to contain wheat.
Blended whisky is more likely to have residual impurity, including wheat gluten.
Single malt contains only barley as a source and is always at least double distilled. Some are triple distilled (mainly low land).
In theory blended whisky is risky, single malt should be OK, and Laphroig in particular are adament their product is gluten free.
This only applies to Scottish Whisky, I have no info regarding Irish or US/Canadian

As a whisky buff and enthusiast, I have noticed blended makes me ill, single malt just makes me happy! So the information I gathered seems to be pretty accurate.

Prof Paul Morgan-Ayres
Consultant Therapist

Re Obscure Foods not Gluten Free: from robert Cutler on 2006-05-19

Is malt flavoring gluten-free? Thanks, Robert Cutler

Re Obscure Foods not Gluten Free: from Peter on 2006-05-19

Where you see malt flavouring listed on the ingredients of cereal packets it is not gluten-free.
Products such as Kellogs Cornflakes contain up to 8\% barley, listed as malt flavouring.

So you must assume that malt flavouring is not gluten-free

Re Gluten Free dining: from Nadja Clifford on 2006-05-21

Where do you buy alert cards?

Re UK Gluten Free Beer: from Jeff Bowman on 2006-05-30

I have celiac. I can not drink beer no more. Is there any glutin free beer in the area of Kentucky or Tennessee (United States).

Re UK Gluten Free Beer: from Jeff Bowman on 2006-05-30

As I mentioned before - I have celiac. However I can make me a mixed drink of Barcardi Limon rum(one shot), Zima XXX(one bottle) and a diet sprite(half glass) and it does not affect me. Plus this is a great summer time drink!

Send your comment to the author

Prove you are not a robot:
Scroll Content:
Column Width:
Change the style sheet: compact style accessible style
About this website
Scroll Content: