411.Gluten Moderated discussion and help for gluten free, coeliac, celiac, wheat allergies or intolerance, Cookery and recipes part 44

Re: Does whey have gluten in it: from Marissa on 2008-04-10

Thank you!!!!!!!!

I love tootsie rolls, and a coffee ice cream, and they have whey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Re: Wheatfree = Gluten Free: from littletamale on 2008-04-15

Your story is all too familiar to mine, and I was wondering if you found any help!!

I have PCOS, and have not been diagnosed with gluten intolerance, but I get severe cramps/bloating/gas when I eat anything related to bran(especially),oats, grains, beans, ect. I, too, find that rice is much better for my stomach, but this only exacerbates the PCOS. I feel like I can't eat anything except meat, fruit, and some vegetables....which makes it complicated when you are always on-the-go

Re: Gluten Intolerance and Ulcerative Colitis: from tg on 2008-04-16

My son is 8 years old and was diagnosed with UC a year ago. He was not able to tolerate asacol or pentaza due to severe side effects that made him sicker than UC. He takes VSL3 probiotics, fish oil, and herbal tea prescribed by the herbalist and approved by the gastroenterologist. We eliminated all cow products including beef and substitue with goat dairy. We allow him to have spelt products. Since we started on this regimen, he has regular formed bowel movements daily and pain is gone. We can see occasional bloody threads in his stools and are thinking of spelt elimination. I hope this helps

gluten free crisps: from mobo on 2008-04-22

The only crisps I know of that say they are suitable for coeliacs are Walkers Salt & Shake. Ingredients: Potatoes, sunflower oil (35\%). Salt (in sachet

Is Barbecue safe (Gluten free: from Keith on 2008-05-21

I'm wanting to use KC Masterpiece barbecue sauce. The listed ingredients are: High fructose corn syrup, Tomato puree, Tomato paste, Water, Molasses, Natural hickory flavor, Natural Flavors, Vinegar, Modified food starch, Salt, Xanthan gum, Sodium benzoate, Onion, Garlic, Carmel Color. Thanks for your reply Keith

Is Barbecue safe (Gluten free: from Peter on 2008-05-21

Modified food starch should always be avoided. It may be wheat starch.
Natural flavours and Caramel Colour are doubtful - barley is used quite a lot as a flavouring and should be avoided

Re What you can eat on a gluten-free diet: from Richard Blackwell-Whitehead on 2008-05-23

Regarding spirits, they should be fine but whiskey affects me for some reason, malts much more than blends (blends use 70\% to 98\% corn spirit, malts are pure barley spirit). As an astrochemist this puzzled me, but having thought about it more I realised that it could relate to the purity of the distillation process, older stills may allow gluten from the barley to contaminate the spirit. I had a tour around a very old distillery and their distillation process had several points where conceivable barley gluten could contaminate the spirit. However, I do not imagine the level of contamination to be more than a few hundred parts per million (ppm), but for some coeliacs this is enough to be a problem. Anyway without testing for gluten I can not say if my theory is right or not

What you can eat on a gluten-free diet: from SHANE on 2008-05-28

Hi

Does chinese curry have gluten? If so is there a chinese curry that Coeliacs can eat

Re: UK Gluten free suet: from Sue Aplin on 2008-06-09

I dont know how long ago this message was posted but just found gluten free suet in Marks and Spencers in Swindon. June 2008

Re: Gluten Free dining: from tracy gates on 2008-06-16

ide like to find out where i could purchase diatry cards please pontefract area