421.Gluten Moderated discussion and help for gluten free, coeliac, celiac, wheat allergies or intolerance, Cookery and recipes part 6

Re: What you can eat on a gluten-free diet: from on 2002-11-25

What do you know about caramel color? I thought this was a no-no so I've been avoiding coca cola, root beer because they have caramel coloring. Thoughts

Re: Gluten Intolerance and Ulcerative Colitis: from on 2002-12-10

My mother-in-law suffers from Ulcerative colitis. Can you advise me about any diets which can help her from getting reccurent flare up's of her condition.

Yours sincerely

Andrew Nicholson
Tel 01452 621508

Re: Gluten Intolerance and Ulcerative Colitis: from Peter on 2002-12-11

In the first instance she should discuss this with her doctor. Restrictive diets are not a good idea unles there is some evidence that the colitis has a dietary cause.


Re: gluten and clinical depression: from Lyn on 2003-01-15

CD & psychiatric problems

Does whey have gluten in it: from on 2003-02-09

I found a new bread mix for the bread machine that didn't actually cost me an entire paycheck. The package says Wheat Free/Gluten Free. Yet the ingredients list whey. It was my understanding that whey had gluten in it. Is this true? Or are there forms of whey without gluten? I'm wondering how they can claim this is gluten free if it contains whey. Any help anyone can give me would be greatly appreciated

Re: Does whey have gluten in it: from Lyn on 2003-02-09

Whey is from milk -which does not contain gluten, so, unless you have lactose intolerance, you are safe to eat whey.
Hope you enjoy your first bread machine loaf

Re: What you can eat on a gluten-free diet: from on 2003-02-15

Dear Peter I am a coiliac sufferer, can you tell me if I can have preservatives and emulsepheres. Can I also eat marmite thankyou

Re: What you can eat on a gluten-free diet: from Peter on 2003-02-17

Preservatives are mostly things like vinegar, or other acids, that stop bacteria growing in food. They would not contain gluten.
Emulsifiers break fat up into small globules. Again they will not contain gluten.


Gluten and sugar free baking: from on 2003-02-19

Dear Peter,
I am an Artisan baker located in the United States. I recently started my own business baking custom breads and rolls for local restaurants. In doing so I have found a great need for gluten and sugar free products. I have also found that the cost of raw materials makes this a very hard business to profit from, thus very few businesses in my area are willing to deal with this market. This gave me the idea of forming an online club that will address this. I would like to get the word out, so please visit my web site and tell me what you think of my ideas. the address is https://fhill11.tripod.com
I would also like to ad a link to your site to my pages . From reading the posts I think you are in the UK , but your readers are from around the world. I will be reading your book. Do you know if I could find it in a public libary in the US?
Please respond to my e mail.
Thank You

Re: gluten-free safe and forbidden list: from on 2003-03-22

Uncontaminated buckwheat and millet are GF.
Adults on a well established GF diet are safe to eat pure oats in small quantities daily but the problem seems to be getting uncontaminated oats.
Here is more information about oats & CD: