499.Malt extract, Correction Moderated discussion and help for gluten free, coeliac, celiac, wheat allergies or intolerance, Cookery and recipes

Re: Malt extract, Correction: from on 2004-05-13

br /> Whoops!

Forgive me, I said malt is made of rye, that is wrong, it could be but in the Western World, it is invariably made of BARLEY.

However, in some parts of the third-world to avoid taxes or to comply with government efforts to support and protect local growers of rye, wheat, rice, and occassionally rice, malt can be manufactured from rye, wheat, or rice, and, accordingly contain gluten or be free of gluten.

Sorry, for the snafu. I hope the unsolicited information helps make amends.

Conor

Send your comment to the author


Prove you are not a robot:
Scroll Content:
Column Width:
Change the style sheet: compact style accessible style
About this website
Scroll Content: