553.Query about grass Moderated discussion and help for gluten free, coeliac, celiac, wheat allergies or intolerance, Cookery and recipes

Query about grass: from fiona kovacevic on 2008-07-04

Does wheat and barley grass have gluten? Can I still drink the juices from these and also can sprouted wheat breads be eaten eg: essene breads

Query about grass: from Peter on 2008-07-04

Sprouted wheat bread will still contain a lot of gluten and should be avoided.
Juice from the leaves of wheat and barley would have little or no gluten, but you would have to judge for yourself whether you react in any way to them - some people react to other chemicals from the wheat, not just to the gluten