608.Soy Sauce Moderated discussion and help for gluten free, coeliac, celiac, wheat allergies or intolerance, Cookery and recipes

Soy Sauce: from on 2004-04-30

Not together, of course!
But I have a friend coming round for dinner and she is gluten and lactose intolerant. I was planning an asian stew with rice, thinking that rice was a good option.
Now, I just realised that soy sauce *may* have gluten in it. Is this true?
The entire stew has about 3 tsp of dark soya sauce in it.
Will this pose a problem?

ALso, if any one knows whether Ciao Bella Coconut Sorbet has milk in it, I would be very grateful. I thought that I was clear by ordering Sorbet, but then I read on the website that "The sorbets are also dairy-free, fat-free and cholesterol-free (except coconut and chocolate which contain natural fat and milk)."
Does this mean coconut milk? Or regular milk?

So stressed... I don't want my friend to get ill because of my cooking!
thanks in advance

Re: Soy Sauce: from Peter on 2004-06-26

Some brands of soy sauce are made with wheat, and so must be avoided.
Even small amounts can cause problems for some people.

The chocolate sorbet probably contains dairy milk, and lactose.

Peter

Re: Soy Sauce: from on 2004-07-27

I haven't eaten any wheat for a couple of weeks, but a few days ago I had some Japanese soy sauce, Tamari, and within minutes I felt like my throat was closing up, and that somebody was sitting on my chest. Does this sound like a reaction to you. It did ease off after an hour or so.
I'd be interested to know your opion. The reason I gave up wheat originally was, I was getting headaches

Re: Soy Sauce: from Peter on 2004-07-27

That sounds to me that it might be a very serious allergic reaction. It may be to the soy sauce rather than wheat.
Better safe than sorry - consult your doctor as soon as possible - and don't eat any soy or wheat until you have done so.

Peter

Re: Soy Sauce: from on 2004-09-09

Have had blood tests for allergy to wheat, yeast & soy. All have come back negative. Still get a closing of the throat reaction to soy sauce so am at a loss to explain it. Any ideas, as am at my wits end

Re: Soy Sauce: from Peter on 2004-09-17

I would simply avoid soy sauce, and anything else that gives a similar reaction.

Peter

Re Soy Sauce: from John Gagnon on 2006-02-14

Soy sauce also has caramel in it which contains milk, so it isn't good for lactose intolerance either.

Re Soy Sauce: from Jennifer Holzapfel on 2006-03-28

I think there is a possibility soy sauce is aged and may contain mold. You could be allergic to that.

Re Soy Sauce: from Jennifer Holzapfel on 2006-03-28

I think there is a possibility soy sauce is aged and may contain mold. You could be allergic to that.

Re Soy Sauce: from Thomas Thompson on 2006-04-22

My son eats soy nuts and wheat bread with no apparent problem. However, when he eats soy sauce, he gets a bad stomach ache. He seems to tolerate small amounts if it is stir-fried (in marinated meat).