Spelt Bread: from Donna-Marie Keegan on 2007-04-18
I was advised to stay off wheat and yeast. This proving very difficult for me as most things (apart from fresh fruit & veg!!) contain one or the other. However I was advised to make spelt bread for which I have tried to find a recipe online. Unfortunately all of the recipes I have come across for spelt bread are made using yeast which I dont want. I found an American recipe for spelt bread without yeast but I find it a bit confusing with the measurements and so was hoping you may have a recipe with no yeast for spelt bread in our english terms !! (Im from Ireland)
I look forward to hearing from you,
Spelt Bread: from T on 2008-04-24
Hi, Any chance you could let me have the american spelt bread recipe as I invested in some great cup measures before I left and find it quicker to use them if I can. I haven't found any recipes without yeast either so would like to try it.
Spelt Bread: from kurt on 2009-06-20
SPELT IS WHEAT! Contains gluten.
Read the following definition from the internet!
Question: Are spelt and spelt flour gluten-free?
Answer: Spelt is a species of wheat, so spelt and spelt flour are NOT gluten-free.
People who believe that spelt (scientifically known as Triticum spelta) is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease are mistaken.
According to the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004, foods that contain spelt or kamut cannot carry "wheat-free" or "wheat-alternative" labels.